Baylor School CFO Dallas Joseph Receives National Award for Professional Achievement
Baylor School CFO Dallas Joseph Receives National Award for Professional Achievement

The National Business Officers Association has named Baylor School Chief Financial Officer Dallas Joseph as the recipient of the 2019 NBOA Ken White Distinguished Business Officer Award, the highest honor given by the association for professional achievement.

Joseph entered the independent school sector after serving in financial leadership positions at two higher education institutions. In 2000, he joined the Baylor as chief financial officer and chief operating officer, where he oversees several major administrative units and has led ongoing efforts to strengthen internal controls and financial reporting systems.

On the national level, he has held leadership roles in the areas of financial aid and enrollment management, and served as board chair of the NBOA Board of Directors from 2011 to 2013. Joseph's leadership "was instrumental in guiding NBOA through challenging times," said NBOA President and CEO Jeff Shields, "ultimately leading to the development of a new strategic plan that helped secure NBOA's place among national associations serving independent schools."

Joseph has presented at numerous conferences, workshops and panel discussions, including a recent panel with NBOA and the Enrollment Management Association on the sensitive subject of financial aid. He is a generous mentor to other professionals, leads by listening and focuses on strategic avenues. Joseph "commands respect without ever asking for it," said Shields. "He embodies everything that is important about being an independent school business officer, and most importantly, everything that Ken White thought a business officer could be and should be."

In addition to his service to Baylor, Joseph serves on numerous non-profit and community boards, including the Community Foundation of Greater Chattanooga, the Hunter Museum of American Art, the Chattanooga Area Food Bank, Shaw University, the Enrollment Management Association, The United Way, and St. Nicholas School.

More News