Baylor Has Strong Showing at Conference
Baylor Has Strong Showing at Conference

Baylor Middle School students participated in the Middle School Youth in Government conference at the Brainerd BX on Feb. 5 and came back with several awards. 

The Tennessee YMCA Youth in Government Program is an annual conference designed to offer high school and middle school students a hands-on experience with state government. Each year, over 2500 students from across the state converge on the State Capitol, taking the places of our real government officials. Program participants can serve as senators or representatives, as justices and lawyers, as department commissioners and lobbyists, or even as press corps members. 

Middle School students included Alisha Chandra and Julia Gardner; seventh graders Sara Catherine Bradshaw, Lauren Butt, Valerie Davis, Gabe Daugherty, Natalie Hankins, Andrew Kopet, Ellis Ann Mitchum, Lily Monen, Mary Evelyn Pearce, Lily Simpson, Madison Kay Tuder, and Alana Zavala; and eighth graders Sophia Baleeiro, Ally Creswell, and Sidney Kiner.   The team of Baleeiro, Cresswell, and Kiner passed legislation in the house and senate with their bill becoming law.  Baleeiro also won an award for delegate and decorum in the senate. Other awards included Kopet, decorum in senate; Chandra’s bill passed in the house and she won an award for decorum in the house; Tuder and Mitchum’s bill passed in the house, and Pearce won an award for decorum in the house.

Upper School students who served as volunteers for the event included Audra Bell, Ridley Browder, Chloe Crooks , Emily Dotson , Owen Eastman, Julia Flack, Paige Gilbert , Olivia Hankins, Elizabeth Hayslett , Gavin Jordan , Elisabeth Lau, Caleb Nunes , Gillian Radpour , Paige Ryan , Jacky Song, Couriyah Stegall, Sydney Anne Sutherland , Lucy Townsend , Erica Wu, and Stephanie Xian.

Middle School instructor Regan Phillips serves as faculty sponsor and Paige Ryan '21 organized the Upper School participation. 

More News