Twelve Baylor Seniors Named Commended Students in NMSP
National Merit Commended students (front, left to right) Connie Ni, Fatima Sohani, Maya Wiisanen, Olivia Hankins, Lily Fridl, Adelle Pritchard, (back) Katherine Chen, Ibilola Esho, Gunnar Garriques, Maddie Perry, and Aidan Shaw. Brett Cooper, away at the state golf championship, was not available for the photo.

Twelve Baylor seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Seniors receiving the honor are Katherine Chen, Brett Cooper, Ibilola Esho, Lily Fridl, Gunnar Garriques, Olivia Hankins, Connie Ni, Maddie Perry, Adelle Pritchard, Aidan Shaw, Fatima Sohani, and Maya Wiisanen.

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional promise. Although they will not continue in the 2022 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2022 competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

Nine Baylor seniors were named National Merit Semifinalists in the competition on September 15. Click here for that story.

"As this year progresses, I continue to be impressed with the numerous accomplishments of all our students," said Head of School Chris Angel '89. "Congratulations to the twelve students who earned the distinction of being named Commended Scholars this year! Go Big Red!"

More News