Skip To Main Content

Nine Seniors Awarded by NMS Program
(front row, left to right, Jade Liu, Sarah Rutledge, Mary Ma, Maddy Toledano; (back row, left to right) Kenny Zheng, Carson Brinn, Rex Zhu, Connor Duffy, and Thomas Nimon.

Nine Baylor seniors have been named award winners in the 65th National Merit Scholarship Program by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

Thomas Nimon has been named a semifinalist, joining an elite group of over 80 Baylor students named National Merit semifinalists since 2007. Nimon was chosen based on his performance, as a junior, on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) that placed him among the 16,000 highest scorers nationwide of the 1.6 million students who took the test, which evaluates critical reading, math, and writing skills. Nimon will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

A member of Round Table, Red Circle, Raiders Against Prejudice (RAP), the Mountain Biking Club, and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Nimon participates in Model UN, community service, and Walkabout.

In addition, eight Baylor seniors have been named NMSC Commended Students. Carson Brinn, Connor Duffy, Jake Liu, Mary Ma, Sarah Rutledge, Maddy Toledano, Kenny Zheng, and Rex Zhu placed among the top 34,000 scorers throughout the U.S. who are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.


More News