Nine Baylor Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

Semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program are seniors (front row, left to right) Owen Eastman, Tina Zheng, Maddie Kim, Caleb Nuñes, (back row) Trey McDonald, Jack Smith, Rowe Cooper, Nick McKenney, and Sanjit Pamidi. 

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced that nine Baylor seniors are semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit® Scholarship Program. Named as semifinalists were Rowe Cooper, Owen Eastman, Maddie Kim, Trey McDonald, Nick McKenney, Caleb Nuñes, Sanjit Pamidi, Jack Smith, and Tina Zheng.

These students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring. About 95 percent of semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing with approximately half of those finalists winning a National Merit Scholarship.

"At Baylor, we are fortunate to be able to celebrate the many accomplishments of our students in all aspects of their educational journey," said Head of School Chris Angel '89. "Today, I am beyond proud to honor our nine National Merit Semifinalists for such a prestigious accomplishment! Go Big Red!"

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit® Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

Fifty-five Baylor seniors have qualified as National Merit semifinalists in the last 10 years.

More News