Baylor Honors Eleven at Head of School Awards and Memorial Service
Head of School Award winners honored on Sunday, Oct. 3 were (seated, left to right) Floyd Celapino, Carl Owens' 74, Bill McMahan '67, (standing) Bill Anderson '71, Tom Younger '74, Scott Smith '78, and Alan Shuptrine '81. Not available for the photo were honorees Dr. David Conwell, Bob Olson, Tom Schow, and Mark Styslinger '82

Baylor School honored 11 members of the school community during the Head of School Awards and Memorial Chapel Service on Sunday, Oct. 3, 2021, as part of the Alumni Weekend festivities.

Nationally acclaimed watercolorist Alan Shuptrine (class of 1981) was this year's recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award; trustee and chair of the board's new Development Committee Scott Smith (class of 1978) received the John T. 'Buddy' Fisher '46 Distinguished Service Award; Bill Anderson (class of 1971), Mark Styslinger  (class of 1982), and Tom Younger (class of 1974) were inducted into the Baylor Sports Hall of Fame; and retired faculty members Floyd Celapino (42 years of service), Dr. David Conwell (25 years), Bill McMahan '67 (47 years), Bob Olson (30 years), Carl Owens '74  (36 years), and Tom Schow (34 years) received the Dedicated Faculty Award. 

The service, including performances by the Baylor Concert Choir, also was a memorial to each Baylor alum or faculty/staff member who passed away in the last two years and a special remembrance of those in the Classes of 1970 and 1971 who have passed.

Click here to watch a video of the ceremonies.

More News