Skip To Main Content

Eleven Seniors Earn National Merit Honors

Eleven Seniors Earn National Merit Honors
Pictured, (front row, left to right) are Julia McCracken, Annie Marks, Rachel Chen, Angela Yoon, Ella Marks, and VA Polk; (back row, left to right) Cecelia Yuan, Mazie Mitchem, Oliver Nimon, Brennan Buzinkai, and Luke Thompson.

Eleven Baylor seniors have been named award winners in the 69th National Merit Scholarship Program by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

Rachel Chen and Angela Yoon have been named semifinalists, based on their performance as juniors on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  Of the 1.5 million students who took the test in 2022, Chen and Yoon were among the 16,000 highest scorers nationwide.  They will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships that will be offered next spring.

In addition, nine seniors have been named NMSC Commended Students, all of whom placed among the top 34,000 scorers throughout the U.S. and were recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Baylor’s Commended Students are Brennan Buzinkai, Annie Marks, Ella Marks, Julia McCracken, Mazie Mitchem, Oliver Nimon, VA Polk, Luke Thompson, and Cecelia Yuan.

Rachel Chen and Angela Yoon have been named National Merit Semifinalists