Skip To Main Content

Carrie Rice and Mae Weiss Selected for Endowed Faculty Chairs

Carrie Rice and Mae Weiss Selected for Endowed Faculty Chairs

Middle School math instructor, cross country, and strength and conditioning coach Carrie Rice (left) has been named the most recent Glenn and Mallie Ireland Chair, and band director Mae Weiss (right) was selected as the school’s third Cartter Lupton Chair. 

The two were recognized at the final faculty meeting of the 2023-24 school year. Rice joined the Baylor faculty in 2016, and Weiss was hired in 2019.

The Ireland Chair recognizes exemplary teaching and other significant contributions in support of the mission of the school. Honorees are selected annually through a nomination process, and appointments are for three years. Rice joins current recipients Heather Ott, Chris Watkins, Perry Key, Betsy Carmichael, Vic Oakes, Jean Lau, Adam Weaver, Heather Biebel, and Melissa Pojasek. 

Weiss is only the third recipient of the Cartter Lupton chair.  It was held previously by current World Language Department Chair and French instructor Ruth Ann Graham and former math instructor Dr. Dan Kennedy, who retired in 2019.  The Lupton Chair honors teachers who have demonstrated excellence, especially early excellence, in the classroom. 

Recipients of Baylor’s endowed faculty chairs receive an annual stipend and a medallion worn at graduation and other school ceremonies.