Skip To Main Content

Baylor Boasts Four of 12 Finalists for Scrappy Moore Awards

Baylor Boasts Four of 12 Finalists for Scrappy Moore Awards

Baylor athletes Syd Berzon '22 (left) and Makayla Packer '20 (right)are two of the six finalists for the Scrappy Moore Female Athlete of the Year Award to be presented at the annual Best of Preps banquet on Tuesday, June 11 at the Chattanooga Convention Center.

In addition, Baylor coaches Ben Nelson and Kelli Smith '95 are two of the six that will be vying for the Scrappy Moore Coach of the Year Award. The Scrappy Moore awards are considered the top awards given at the banquet sponsored by the Chattanooga Times Free Press.

Berzon was only a freshman this past year but made a big impact on the Baylor softball team, which won its fifth straight and 13th overall state championship this spring. A fireballing pitcher, Berzon finished 20-2 with a 0.75 ERA and struck out 213 batters in 112 innings. She also batted .423, belted five home runs, and drove in 46 RBI. Berzon has made a commitment to the LSU softball program.

Packer, a rising senior, is a two-sport phenom, making huge contributions to the Baylor softball and track teams. She certainly pitched in on the softball title, hitting .456 with four doubles, four homers, and 14 RBI while scoring 31 runs in the 45 game season. On the track, she repeated as the 200 meter dash champion and just missed repeating as the champ in the 100 meter, finishing runner-up. She anchored the state runner-up 4 X 100 meter relay team, setting a new school record, and the 4 X 200 meter relay which finished third at the state meet.

In his ninth season as Baylor's wrestling coach, Nelson (left) guided the team to both the Division II traditional and duals state championships. The Red Raiders tied a program record with six wrestlers earning state titles in the traditional tournament, and the team finished with a 19-0 duals record.

Smith (right) led Baylor's softball program to a 42-3 overall record and its fifth consecutive Division II-AA state title. Despite having six new starters this season, the Lady Red Raiders claimed their eighth crown in the past nine years. Smith has been part of all 13 titles won by Baylor — 11 as coach and two as a player.