Baylor Softball Dynasty Continues with Seventh Straight State Title

Baylor 4, GPS 3. The Baylor softball team advanced to the championship game of the state tournament Friday morning with a 4-3 win over GPS.

Baylor responded to a first-inning GPS run by scoring two of their own on an Addi Yates single, a walk, a hit by pitch, a Bruiser error, and a fielder's choice. Three straight singles by Couriyah Stegall, Kaylee Snyder, and Morgan Sharpe added a third run, and a Cadashia Collins single, a sac but by Katie Raper, and an RBI double by Riley Oleksik provided what proved to be the difference in the fifth inning.

Snyder posted a complete game, scattering ten hits and striking out ten in seven innings.

Baylor moved on to the championship round where GPS eventually fought back to through the loser's bracket.

Click here for a box score and play-by-play.

Baylor 8, GPS 2. With three-run innings in the third and fifth frames, Baylor beat GPS 8-2 in the championship game to set a state record for most consecutive state titles. The Raiders have won seven straight going back to 2015. There was no state championship in 2020 due to the Covid pandemic.

Baylor got on the board in the first inning with an RBI single by Cadashia Collins. In the third, Holly Merritt doubled in two and Riley Oleksik singled in another. The big blows came in the fifth with a solo homer by Katie Raper and a two-run bomb by Oleksik. Kylie Henderson's RBI hit in the sixth added an insurance run.

Starter Kyndall Shamblin got the win, allowing nine hits and striking out six in 5 2/3 innings before giving way to Snyder who pitched 1 1/3 hitless innings, striking out two.

"I'm extremely happy for our program to have that record, but each year is different and right now I'm mostly happy for this year's team for what they accomplished because we had to overcome some obstacles to get this one," Baylor coach Kelli Smith told the Chattanooga Times Free Press.

Click here for the box score and play-by-play.

Baylor ends the season with a 32-3 record and winning a 15th state championship, the seventh straight, and 10 out of the last 11. Baylor was runner-up in 2014 before the seven-title streak began. Baylor's Coach Smith has been a part, either as a player or a coach, of all 15 state championship seasons.

More Raider Recap