Baylor Scores Early and Often to Win Sixth Consecutive State Softball Crown

Baylor 10, GPS 0. Baylor scored two runs in the first inning, all that pitchers Syd Berzon and Ace Sellers would need, and piled on eight more to beat GPS 10-0 for a sixth consecutive state championship Thursday. The Raiders pounded out 14 hits while Berzon and Sellers allowed just two for the Bruisers.

photo by Robin Rudd,

Berzon (2-for-3 got the scoring going for the Raiders with a sac fly RBI in the first, scoring Addi Yates who had reached on a fielder's choice. Sellers, who singled earlier in the inning, scored the second run on a Bruiser error. The Raiders added four in the third on RBI doubles by Berzon and Katie Raper, and RBI single by Raven Jones, and a sac fly by Cadashia Collins, and reached the 10-run threshold with four more runs in the fourth inning. Berzon's second double of the game came with two outs and Collins' single drove in courtesy runner Kendall Gentry. After a walk to Jones, Raper drove in Collins with a double and scored on a Holly Merritt single.

Berzon earned the win, allowing two hits and striking out six in 3.1 innings despite pitching with a injured foot. Sellers worked the final five outs without a hit.

photo by Robin Rudd,

Baylor has now won 14 state championships in softball and is the winner of the last six. There was no state championship in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Baylor coach Kelli Smith '95 has been part of all 14, the 1993 and 1994 titles as a player and the other 12 (2003, 2004, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2021) as a coach.

Click here to download the official box score and play-by-play.

Baylor 2 0 4   4 0 10 14 1
GPS 0 0 0   0 0 0 2 2


More Raider Recap