Lockrow and Dyer Honored by UTC Hall of Fame

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Athletics Hall of Fame has announced that veteran Baylor teacher and coach Park Lockrow will be inducted into the hall in 2019, and that Baylor alum Lee Dyer ‘77 will be the recipient of the Joe Morrison Award.

The inductees and award winners will be honored at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Friday, March 1, at the Chattanooga Country Club.  The banquet is open to the public, but seating is limited and reservations are required. The cost is $50.00 per person, which includes dinner.  For more information, email Jayne-Holder@utc.edu.

Lockrow was a member of the UTC men's tennis program from 1973-76, earning NCAA Division II All-American honors as a senior in 1976.  He was inducted into the Greater Chattanooga Sports Hall of Fame  in 2011.

Now in his 40th year at Baylor, Lockrow was head boys' tennis coach for 15 years, winning eight state championships in the 80’s and 90’s, and served several more as an assistant coach in tennis and cross country. He was Head of the Middle School for ten years and chaired the Baylor history department for five years. His eighth grade ethics class is one of the most popular and meaningful parts of a Baylor student’s education.

The Joe Morrison Award is given annually by the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame to a former student-athlete or coach for notable accomplishments and life experiences.  Dyer played baseball for the Mocs from 1978-1981 and is being honored for his career, currently at 16 years, as an official in the National Football League. 

Dyer entered the Baylor Sports Hall of Fame in 2015 as a three-year letterman in baseball and football and a four-year letterman in swimming. As a Baylor senior, Dyer was honored with the Ted Nelson Best Athlete Award and the Tommy Mullican Award, given by fellow lettermen to a senior who exhibited character, leadership, and spirit. He was the first Baylor student ever to receive both athletic awards in the same year.

More RedLines