Girls' Cross Country Team Wins Fifth Straight Academic Award

For the fifth consecutive year, the Baylor girls' cross country team has been selected by the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) for its Distinguished Academic Achievement Award.

The award is based on the team’s collective GPA, with 3.25 to 4.0 meriting a team the Distinguished certificate. The Baylor team, with 25 members, posted a remarkable collective GPA of 3.70. The school will receive a certificate recognizing the team, and each member of the team will also receive a certificate.

The Individual Academic Achievement certificate is awarded to student-athletes who earn a GPA of 3.5 or above. Twenty team members, 80% of the team, were recognized individually for this award.

The Red Raiders were not only sharp this season, they were also fast. Baylor took titles at the Tiger Two-Miler, the Fast Break Invitational, the McCallie Invitational, and the Front Runner Area Championships. Led by All-State performances from Helen Webb and Emmy Davis, the Raiders were third at the November state championships.

Baylor head coach Heather Ott is understandably proud of the group, both as students and athletes. "To earn this recognition for yet another year speaks to the culture of excellence that the juniors and seniors have established and that Baylor expects and supports. I’m deeply proud of all that they accomplished this year,” says Ott.

The 2019-2020 team members are seniors Kali Cromie, Emmy DavisSabrina Francke, Emily Hale, Lauren Hill, Caroline Imsand, Jade Liu, Riley Murdock, Hannah Rosser, and Sarah Rutledge; juniors Rosa Anderson Barrera, Janie PippengerCatharine Williams, and Shirley Zhang; sophomores Lucy MejiaSarah Kathryn Oliver, Maddie Perry; and ninth graders Mikala Dupre, Natalia Forato, Ava James, Addison Johnson, Charlotte McGinness, Ellie Myers, Marguerite Pippenger, and Helen Webb.

More RedLines