Baylor Players Perform The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Cast members of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: (left right) Abagail Bailey '23, Molly Stanfield '21, Nick Skonberg '21, Will Cromie '21, Rosa Anderson Barrera '21, Elisabeth Lau '21, Jack Smith '22, and May Bankston '22

Standing in front of a small, socially distanced audience the first weekend of May, theater director Beth Gumnick delivered her curtain speech standing in front of a newly built outdoor stage.  "Two days ago we had nothing out here, and now we have London," she said, pointing to the set's backdrop outside of Roddy moments before the Baylor Players presented The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.

Based on four Sherlock Holmes stories written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and adapted for the stage by Jon Jory, the cast included Elisabeth Lau, Nick Skonberg, Jack Smith, and Molly Stanfield as Holmes; and Abagail Bailey, May Bankston, Rosa Anderson-Barrera, and Will Cromie as Watson.  Other cast members were Mary Margaret Bender, Colby Hawk, Melissa Perez, Adelle Pritchard, Patrick Russell, Nathaniel Smart, Kara Anne Smith, and Hannah Winchester.   Crew members were Olivia Hankins, stage manager; Natalie Hankins, assistant stage manager; and Catherine Bryant, Frankie Chamberlain, Kye Hamilton, Karina Quinn, Carson Steele, Ryne Williams, Barry Yang, and Meya Yangzhen

In addition to Gumnick as director, Garrett Walsh provided set and technical direction, Laura Smith was costume designer.  Allison Lamb coordinated an additional crew of Middle School students who assisted with the set, costumes, and props.  They included Russell Boyd, Benjamin Daniel, Parker Frierson, Gabby Goldstein, James Grantham, Harper Kelly, Ellie Lydon, Kimber McKenzie, Braylee Newell, Eva O'Kelley, Katherine Pipes, Nathan Plavich, Adela Sewell, and Jayla Simpkins.

Here are more photos from the production, courtesy of senior Steven Yao.

Issue Archives

More Headlines