Baylor Boasts Nine National Merit Semifinalists and 12 NMS Commended Students

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced that nine Baylor seniors are semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit® Scholarship Program.

Pictured above are National Merit Semifinalists (front row, left to right) Owen Eastman, Tina Zheng, Maddie Kim, Caleb Nuñes (back row) Trey McDonald, Jack Smith, Rowe Cooper, Nick McKenney, and Sanjit Pamidi.

These students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring. About 95 percent of semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing with approximately half of those finalists winning a National Merit Scholarship.

A total of 55 Baylor seniors have qualified as National Merit semifinalists in the last ten years.

In addition, 12 Baylor seniors have been named Commended Students in this year’s NMSC Program.

National Merit Commended Students are (front, left to right) Connie Ni, Fatima Sohani, Maya Wiisanen, Olivia Hankins, Lily Fridl, Adelle Pritchard, (back) Katherine Chen, Ibilola Esho, Gunnar Garriques, Maddie Perry, and Aidan Shaw.

Commended Student Brett Cooper away at the state golf championship and not available for the photo.

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional promise. Although they will not continue in the 2022 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2022 competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT.

"At Baylor, we are fortunate to be able to celebrate the many accomplishments of our students in all aspects of their educational journey," said Head of School Chris Angel '89. "I am beyond proud to honor our nine National Merit Semifinalists and our 12 Commended Students for such prestigious accomplishments.”

Issue Archives

More Headlines