You May be Our Next Distinguished Scholar

Baylor names four Distinguished Scholars annually, providing boarding scholarships to students new to Baylor. The awards are available to rising 9th and 10th grade students: one full-tuition, one half-tuition, and two quarter-tuition scholarships are awarded annually and remain in force through the students' time at Baylor.


Nominees should demonstrate academic excellence as well as a breadth of interest outside the classroom, including athletics, arts and/or community service. Baylor also pays attention to the nominees’ capacity for leadership in and out of the classroom.

Distinguished Scholarship Program Brochure

Nomination Process

Prospective scholarship candidates can be nominated by anyone other than their parents or current members of the Baylor faculty or staff. Once students are nominated, the Baylor admission department will contact them and request the application materials required to complete the scholarship application:

  • The student must be nominated no later than Jan. 8, 2018. A 900-1000 word essay on a topic is assigned when the nomination is announced.
  • In addition to the nomination, an application for admission to Baylor along with the required supporting materials, including two additional letters supporting the student’s nomination, must be completed by Jan. 22, 2018.
  • Nominations Accepted: September 1, 2017 through January 8, 2018
    Click here for online nomination

Distinguished Scholars Weekend - Mar. 9-10, 2018

From the nominees, the school will invite 12 to 16 finalists to Distinguished Scholars Weekend at the end of February, when the students will be hosted by current scholars and tour the campus. The finalists will also be interviewed by a panel of Baylor faculty members before winners are announced the first week in March.

In addition to the annual scholarship winners, all finalists for the award automatically become members of the Baylor Harris-Stanford Honors Program if and when they enroll in the school.

Our Distinguished Scholars

Baylor’s Distinguished Scholars have been actors, athletes, dancers, debaters, outdoors enthusiasts, writers, mathematicians, student government officers, singers and scientists. They have gone on to college at Harvard, Berkeley, North Carolina, MIT, Georgetown, Sewanee and Stanford among many others. They have hailed from Colorado to Connecticut and Indiana to Texas. They have been male and female, reflecting diverse personal backgrounds and world views. What they have had in common are academic aptitude, the desire to achieve excellence and a passion for self-discovery. They have left their marks on Baylor, and Baylor has become a part of them.

Full List of Recipients

  • Wesley Minton, Huntsville, AL
  • Elodie Nix, Katonah, NY
  • Genna Ringler, Versailles, KY
  • Henry Dierig, Navarre, FL
  • Anthony Kranis, Clemmons, NC
  • Sophie Shea, Gulf Shores, AL
2013-2014 RECIPIENTS
  • Annie Dethero, Florence, AL, Wake Forest University
  • Mary Drue Hall, Raleigh, NC, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Pongphol (Pete) Harinsuit, San Ramon, CA, Brown University
  • Parker Catlett, Jefferson City, TN, Washington & Lee University
  • Maggie Pierce, Scottsboro, AL, Colorado College
  • Cat Davis, Fayetteville, AR, University of Virginia
  • Tommy McFarland, Kingston, TN, Centre College
  • Cayman Seagraves, Marietta, GA, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Chandler Hinson, Guntersville, AL, Georgetown University
  • Sammy Lupas, Cashiers, NC, Auburn University
  • Kate Hubbs, Camden, TN, Wake Forest University
  • Lucas Kaliszak, Madison, AL, University of Alabama
  • Alanna Bouloy, Port St. Lucie, FL, Stetson University
  • Melissa Manuel, Woodstock, GA, University of Georgia
  • Christian Carbone, Brentwood, TN, Harvard University
  • David Fisher, Greenville, MS, Washington & Lee University
  • Claudia Wharton, Greensboro, NC, Stanford University
  • Zachary Herron, Knoxville, TN, University of Dayton
  • Ryan Riedmueller, Beaumont, TX, University of California at Berkeley
  • Stephanie Ashley, Grenada, MS, Stanford University
  • Madeline Curtis, London, KY, Georgetown University
  • Katherine Proctor, New Bern, NC, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Parker Stoker, Aiken, SC, Sewanee: University of the South
  • Doreen Xu, Indianapolis, IN, Harvard University
  • Bess Carter, Birmingham, AL, Bowdoin Collge
  • C.J. Enloe, Colorado Springs, CO., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Autumn Nelor, Atlanta, GA, Bowdoin College
  • Molly Roberts, Birmingham, AL, University of Denver
  • Rishi Dixit, Lexington, KY, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Mitch Land, Bristol, VA, Greensboro College
  • Michael Vredeveld, Jesup, GA, Georgia Tech
  • Claire Cassady, Birmingham, AL, Vanderbilt University
  • Colton Griffin, Englewood, TN, University of Tennessee
  • Corby Howard, Trussville, AL , U.S. Coast Guard Academy
  • Sandra Lowe, Gallatin, TN, University of Tennessee

Where They are From

Our Distinguished Scholars have hailed from

Birmingham, AL

Florence, AL

Gulf Shores, AL

Guntersville, AL

Huntsville, AL

Madison, AL

Scottsboro, AL

Trussville, AL

Fayetteville, AR

San Ramon, CA

Colorado Springs, CO

Navarre, FL

Port St. Lucie, FL

Atlanta, GA

Jesup, GA

Marietta, GA

Woodstock, GA

Indianapolis, IN

Lexington, KY

London, KY

Versailles, KY

Greenville, MS

Grenada, MS

Cashiers, NC

Clemmons, NC

Greensboro, NC

New Bern, NC

Raleigh, NC

Katonah, NY

Aiken, SC

Brentwood, TN

Camden, TN

Englewood, TN

Gallatin, TN

Jefferson City, TN

Kingston, TN

Knoxville, TN

Beaumont, TX

Bristol, VA

Colleges and Universities Attended

University of Alabama

Auburn University

Bowdoin Collge

Brown University

University of California at Berkeley

Centre College

Colorado College

United States Coast Guard Academy

University of Dayton

University of Denver

Georgetown University

University of Georgia

Georgia Tech

Greensboro Collge

Harvard University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Middle Tennessee State University

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Sewanee: University of the South

Stanford University

Stetson University

University of Tennessee

Vanderbilt University

University of Virginia

Wake Forest University

Washington & Lee University


Membership to the Harris-Stanford Honors Program includes ninth and tenth grade boarding students who have been admitted as Distinguished Scholarship Program recipients and finalists. Modeled after college honors programs, the Harris-Stanford teams with local, regional and national partners to provide extraordinary civic engagement, learning and leadership opportunities for motivated students.
For more information, click here.


Nominations Accepted: September 1, 2017 through January 8, 2018

Click here for online nomination

Application Deadline:
January 22, 2018

Finalist Candidates on campus: March 9-10, 2018

Merit Scholarship Winners Announced: No later than March 2018.

For more information contact our Admission Office, 423-757-2877.