You May be Our Next Cartter Scholar

Baylor names Cartter Scholars annually, providing boarding scholarships to ninth and tenth grade students new to Baylor. The awards range from partial to full-tuition and remain in force throughout their time at Baylor.

View the Cartter Scholars Program + Harris-Stanford Honors Program Brochure


Nominees should demonstrate academic excellence as well as a breadth of interest outside the classroom, including arts, athletics, and/or community service. Baylor also pays attention to the nominees’ capacity for leadership in and out of the classroom.

Nominations are limited to rising ninth and tenth grade boarding students (from the United States) who are new to Baylor.

International Students

While this scholarship is not available for international students, we still encourage international families to submit an inquiry form and explore our financial aid page for more information about tuition assistance. You can also contact our Admission department at 423-267-5902 or


Nomination Process

Prospective scholarship candidates can be nominated by anyone other than their parents, immediate family, or current members of the Baylor faculty or staff. If you know a rising ninth and tenth grade student who would benefit from all that Baylor has to offer, please take the time to complete a nomination or contact our Admission department at 423-267-5902 or

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2022-23 school year. Once students are nominated, the Baylor admission department will be in contact to outline the additional materials required to complete the scholarship application.


Our Cartter Scholars

Baylor’s Cartter Scholars have been actors, athletes, dancers, debaters, outdoors enthusiasts, writers, mathematicians, student government officers, singers, and scientists. They have gone on to college at Harvard, Berkeley, North Carolina, MIT, Georgetown, Sewanee, and Stanford among many others. They hail from California to Maine and Washington to Florida, and all throughout the Southeastern Unities States. Our scholars reflect diverse personal backgrounds and world views. What they have had in common are academic aptitude, the desire to achieve excellence, and a passion for self-discovery. They have left their marks on Baylor, and Baylor has become a part of them.

In addition to the annual scholarship winners, all finalists automatically become members of Baylor’s Harris-Stanford Honors Program if and when they enroll in the school.


Students admitted to Baylor as Cartter Scholars are automatically members of the Harris-Stanford Honors Program, as are any Cartter finalists who enroll at Baylor and other select members of the Upper School student body.

Modeled after college honors programs, Harris-Stanford collaborates with local, regional, and national partners to provide extraordinary civic engagement, extracurricular seminars, travel and other learning and leadership opportunities for motivated students. Among the partners is the prestigious Institute for the Public Trust, a non-partisan, non-profit organization based in Raleigh, N.C. Baylor is the first high school in the U.S. to be brought into the Institute’s leadership program. For more information, click here.


Nominations Accepted
through December 31.
Click here for online nomination

Application Deadline: December 31.


Please take the time to complete a nomination or contact our Admission department at 423-267-5902 or

Thomas Cartter Lupton, II

The Cartter Scholars Program is named in honor of Thomas Cartter Lupton, II. Mr. Lupton, a member of the Baylor Class of 1971, is a founder and generous benefactor of the scholarship program.