Honors Program and Distinguished Scholars

Through the generosity of friends and alumni, Baylor School has developed a program designed to challenge and reward our brightest and most committed students. The Baylor Honors Program recognizes a cohort of students who with extracurricular lectures, seminars and travel intended to nurture the school’s most promising young leaders. Among the program partners is the prestigious Institute for Public Trust.

As part of the program, Baylor names two Distinguished Scholars annually, providing a full boarding scholarship to two boarding students new to Baylor. The awards are available to rising 9th and 10th grade students and cover the full tuition during their time at Baylor. To qualify, students must be nominated for the honor.


Nominees should demonstrate academic excellence as well as a breadth of interest outside the classroom, including athletics, arts and/or community service. Baylor also pays attention to the nominees’ capacity for leadership in and out of the classroom.


Distinguished Schloarship Program Brochure

Nomination Process

Prospective scholarship candidates can be nominated by anyone other than their parents or current members of the Baylor faculty or staff. Once students are nominated, the Baylor admission department will contact them and request the application materials required to complete the scholarship application:

  • An application for admission to Baylor along with the required supporting materials.
  • Two letters supporting the student’s nomination (in addition to the original nomination)
  • A 900-1000 word essay on a topic to be assigned when the nomination is announced

Distinguished Scholars Weekend

From the nominees, the school will invite 12 to 16 finalists to Distinguished Scholars Weekend at the end of February, when the students will be hosted by current scholars and tour the campus. The finalists will also be interviewed by a panel of Baylor faculty members before winners are announced the first week in March.

In addition to the annual scholarship winners, all finalists for the award automatically become members of the Baylor Honors Program if and when they enroll in the school.

Our Distinguished Scholars

Baylor’s Distinguished Scholars have been actors, athletes, dancers, debaters, outdoors enthusiasts, writers, mathematicians, student government officers, singers and scientists. They have gone on to college at Harvard, Berkeley, North Carolina, MIT, Georgetown, Sewanee and Stanford among many others. They have hailed from Colorado to Connecticut and Indiana to Texas. They have been male and female, reflecting diverse personal backgrounds and world views. What they have had in common are academic aptitude, the desire to achieve excellence and a passion for self-discovery. They have left their marks on Baylor, and Baylor has become a part of them.

2015-16 Recipients
  • Elodie Nix, Katonah, NY
  • Genna Ringler, Versailles, KY
2014-15 Recipients
  • Henry Dierig, Navarre, FL
  • Anthony Kranis, Clemmons, NC
  • Sophie Shea, Gulf Shores, AL
2013-2014 Recipients
  • Annie Dethero, Florence, AL
  • Mary Drue Hall, Raleigh, NC
  • Pongphol (Pete) Harinsuit, San Ramon, CA
2012-13 Recipients
  • Parker Catlett, Jefferson City, TN, Washington & Lee University
  • Maggie Pierce, Scottsboro, AL, Colorado College
2011-12 Recipients
  • Cat Davis, Fayetteville, AR, University of Virginia
  • Tommy McFarland, Kingston, TN, Centre College
  • Cayman Seagraves, Marietta, GA, Middle Tennessee State University
2010-11 Recipients
  • Chandler Hinson, Guntersville, AL, Georgetown University 
  • Sammy Lupas, Cashiers, NC, Auburn University
  • Kate Hubbs, Camden, TN, Wake Forest University
  • Lucas Kaliszak, Madison, AL, University of Alabama
2009-10 Recipients
  • Alanna Bouloy, Port St. Lucie, FL, Stetson University
  • Melissa Manuel, Woodstock, GA, University of Georgia
2008-09 Recipients
  • Christian Carbone, Brentwood, TN, Harvard University
  • David Fisher, Greenville, MS, Washington & Lee University
  • Claudia Wharton, Greensboro, NC, Stanford University
2007-08 Recipients
  • Zachary Herron, Knoxville, TN, University of Dayton
  • Ryan Riedmueller, Beaumont, TX, University of California at Berkeley
2006-07 Recipients
  • Stephanie Ashley, Grenada, MS, Stanford University
  • Madeline Curtis, London, KY, Georgetown University
  • Katherine Proctor, New Bern, NC, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Parker Stoker, Aiken, SC, Sewanee: University of the South
  • Doreen Xu, Indianapolis, IN, Harvard University
2005-06 Recipients
  • Bess Carter, Birmingham, AL, Bowdoin Collge
  • C.J. Enloe, Colorado Springs, CO., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

  • Autumn Nelor, Atlanta, GA, Bowdoin College
  • Molly Roberts, Birmingham, AL, University of Denver
2004-05 Recipients
  • Rishi Dixit, Lexington, KY, Massachusetts Institute of TEchnology (MIT)
  • Mitch Land, Bristol, VA, Greensboro Collge
  • Michael Vredeveld, Jesup, GA, Georgia Tech

2003-04 Recipients
  • Claire Cassady, Birmingham, AL, Vanderbilt University
  • Colton Griffin, Englewood, TN, University of Tennessee
  • Corby Howard, Trussville, AL , U.S. Coast Guard Academy
  • Sandra Lowe, Gallatin, TN, University of Tennessee
Boy and Girl in Class.jpg

Student Perspectives

"Baylor has really been everything I expected it to be and more. I have especially loved the whole boarding experience, as well as the opportunity to study abroad in Australia for over two months through the Round Square Exchange Program." - Distinguished Scholar '07

"I came to Baylor in hopes of opening doors to the future. I have gained so much from my experiences in Walkabout and as a community service site leader that I would have been less likely to experience elsewhere." - Distinguished Scholar '07

For more information contact our Admission Office, 423-267-8506 ext. 394.

Important Dates

Nominations Accepted: September 1, 2016 through December 12, 2016
Click here for online nomination

Application Deadline: January 13, 2017

Finalist Candidates on campus: February 24-25, 2017

Merit Scholarship Winners Announced: No later than March 14, 2017