Distinguished Scholars Program

Distinguished Scholars Program

Baylor School's Distinguished Scholars Program recognizes prospective 9th grade boarding students who are among the best and brightest - who show the most promise - and rewards them with full or partial tuition, room and board, based solely on merit. Although financial need is not among the selection criteria, the scholarship potentially represents $140,000 over four years.


To be considered, nominees should demonstrate academic excellence (including exemplary performance on a Baylor-approved national test), leadership skills, breadth of interest and extracurricular involvement.  They also must have made a positive contribution to some worthy group or cause.

Distinguished Schloarship Program Brochure

Nomination Process

  • Nominations must be submitted by a third party – someone other than a family member or a member of Baylor's faculty and staff. Alumni, parents and friends of Baylor are invited to think about promising students they know and submit their names for consideration. Click here for online nomination.
  • Nominees will be asked to provide a personal narrative about a time in their lives when they were challenged or tested in some significant way.
  • Each nomination must be accompanied by three letters of recommendation from the admissions application, two from teachers and one from a non-teacher.
  • Candidates must complete an application for admission.
  • Finalists will be interviewed on campus by the selection committee.

Our Distinguished Scholars

2014-15 Recipients
Henry Dierig, Navarre, FL
Anthony Kranis, Clemmons, N.C.
Walker McClelland, Beaumont, TX
Sophie Shea, Gulf Shores, AL

2013-2014 Recipients
Annie Dethero, Florence, AL
Mary Drue Hall, Raleigh, NC
Pongphol (Pete) Harinsuit, San Ramon, CA
Chance Thomas, Bristol, VA

2012-13 Recipients
Parker Catlett, Jefferson City, TN
Jack Durham, Dallas, TX
Alex Lotko, Newtown, CT
Maggie Pierce, Scottsboro, AL

2011-12 Recipients
Cat Davis, Fayetteville, AR
Tommy McFarland, Kingston, TN
Cayman Seagraves, Marietta, GA
Sarah Woodmansee, Gray, TN

2010-11 Recipients
Chandler Hinson, Guntersville, AL
Sammy Lupas, Cashiers, NC
Kate Hubbs, Camden, TN
Lucas Kaliszak, Madison, AL

2009-10 Recipients
Alanna Bouloy, Port St. Lucie, FL, Stetson University
Melissa Manuel, Woodstock, GA, University of Georgia

2008-09 Recipients
Christian Carbone, Brentwood, TN, Harvard University
David Fisher, Greenville, MS, Washington & Lee University
Claudia Wharton, Greensboro, NC, Stanford University

2007-08 Recipients:

Zachary Herron, Knoxville, TN, University of Dayton
Ryan Riedmueller, Beaumont, TX, University of California at Berkeley

2006-07 Recipient College Choices:
Stephanie Ashley, Grenada, MS, Stanford University
Madeline Curtis, London, KY, Georgetown University
Katherine Proctor, New Bern, NC, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Parker Stoker, Aiken, SC, Sewanee: University of the South
Doreen Xu, Indianapolis, IN, Harvard University

2005-06 Recipient College Choices:
Bess Carter, Birmingham, AL, Bowdoin Collge
C.J. Enloe, Colorado Springs, CO., Massachusetts Institute of TEchnology (MIT)
Autumn Nelor, Atlanta, GA, Bowdoin College
Molly Roberts, Birmingham, AL, University of Denver

2004-05 Recipient College Choices:
Rishi Dixit, Lexington, KY, Massachusetts Institute of TEchnology (MIT)
Mitch Land, Bristol, VA, Greensboro Collge
Michael Vredeveld, Jesup, GA, Georgia Tech

2003-04 Recipient College Choices:
Claire Cassady, Birmingham, AL, Vanderbilt University
Colton Griffin, Englewood, TN, University of Tennessee
Corby Howard, Trussville, AL , U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Sandra Lowe, Gallatin, TN, University of Tennessee

Student Perspectives

"Baylor has really been everything I expected it to be and more. I have especially loved the whole boarding experience, as well as the opportunity to study abroad in Australia for over two months through the Round Square Exchange Program." - Distinguished Scholar '07

"I came to Baylor in hopes of opening doors to the future. I have gained so much from my experiences in Walkabout and as a community service site leader that I would have been less likely to experience elsewhere." - Distinguished Scholar '07

For more information contact our Admission Office, 423-267-5920

Important Dates

Important Dates

Nominations Accepted: September 1, 2014 through January 17, 2015 (Click here for online nomination)

Application Deadline: January 30, 2015

Finalist Candidates on campus: February 27-28, 2015

Merit Scholarship Winners Announced: No later than March 14, 2015